Home and Garden
Dozens of articles about interior decoration. The "Design Styles" section features information about styles such as Art Deco, Asian, French country, rustic, shabby chic, and Shaker. Includes home tours, and design ideas for specific rooms and for items, such as baskets, candles, lamps, and window treatments. From Home and Garden Television.
The site contains a large collection of tips, tricks, and tutorials covering a variety of subjects, from appliance care to pet care to woodworking. You can scan a list of subjects or search with keywords. There is also a free monthly newsletter.
Everything for food lovers - cooking videos, recipes, articles, cookbook reviews, and information on wine and restaurants.
This site describes how a family eating dinner together "is a simple, effective way to reduce the risk of youth substance abuse and to raise healthier children." It also provides a short list of discussion topics such as sharing childhood memories and discussing books and movies.
This is an annotated directory of selected gardening sites and contains useful original material. “The Garden Gate offers gardeners and nature lovers a carefully-selected and well-organized collection of links to informative and interesting horticulture sites around the world.”
Here's the place to order all those gardening catalogs you love to read! In addition, you'll find lots of useful gardening information, including an extensive list of public gardens in the U.S. by state and type.
This site provides "ecologically sound, science-based practices" for gardening and lawn care. Features illustrated growing guides for specific flowers and vegetables, a tutorial on designing flower gardens, lawn care tips and techniques, and fact sheets on gardening techniques, avoiding pests and diseases, and lawns.
"Full text articles on topics of home maintenance and repair. Includes information on stains, cleaning, minor household fixes," and more. Searchable, and browsable by topic. From Michigan State University Extension.
Home and family topics include aging, children, clothing, family relationships, housing, parenting, finances, food, nutrition and health.
Collection of articles about the psychology of parenting. Subjects include adoption, division of labor, fatherhood, grandparenting, child development, communication, child abuse, child neglect, sex education, technology, discipline, and more. From Psychology Today magazine.
The Searchable Online Archive of Recipes currently indexes around 70,000 recipes, including those for restricted diets, kids, special occasions - even treats for your pet. Particularly useful for browsing ethnic recipes.
Will your plant survive in Iowa’s climate? Check the online version of the government publication showing the growing conditions in areas across the USA.
Learn all about wine with links that include a pronouncing glossary, vineyard weather, food-wine matches, and tasting notes on over 50,000 wines.
Provides how-to tips and gardening basics. Topics include flowers, fruits, houseplant, lawns, trees and shrubs, vegetables and herbs, weeds and pests.
Transform your home with inspiration and instruction from HGTV for your home design, decorating, landscaping and handmade craft project.